And also remember that towers can capture meeples over gaps - that's easy to forget.
You can? We have been playing that gaps block the reach of a tower. At least we voted 2-1 to play it that way. Of course, the guy would said you could jump over gaps was the same one who argued the dragon could eat meeples in a tower, but we overruled him on that one too (incorrectly again, as it turns out). Hmmm, maybe we should start listening to him more

By the way, I assume this ruling is in the AR somewhere, right? I guess I need to look over that doc a bit more carefully.
Speaking of towers (I am too lazy to look this up in the AR, so I will just ask it here), can the towers reach into Carc if playing the Count? We ruled that they could not, but it would be nice sometimes to pluck a choice meeple out of there at a strategic time.