Carcassonne Central
January 12, 2025, 03:15:53 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: THESE FORUMS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. PLEASE GO TO THE NEW FORUMS: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/
 
   Home   Help Search Staff List Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rivers and mayor questions  (Read 9043 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Dagou
Cottager
**

Merit: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


Awards
« on: May 25, 2008, 07:42:02 pm »


When playing the river or river2, does placing the lake count as a players turn? As an example, player A places the last tile before the lake is placed, then does player B place the lake or is the lake placed by rule and then player B draws the first tile? In the completed annoted rules (great document by the way if not to say awsesome) it is not mentioned if the lake tile is placed as a players turn. "When the river is finished, the lake tile is placed, and the game continues..."

If a mayor of strength 0 (i.e. no pennants) is alone in a ciy and the city is closed, does the player get points for this or does the mayor have to be of at least 1 one strength?

Thanks for your help!
Logged
canada steve
Global Moderator
Marquis
*
*
*
***

Merit: 7
Offline Offline

Posts: 458


Forum Moderator


Awards
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 02:07:15 am »

Last tile to be placed riverwise is the lake with the Dragon on it, which I believe allows the player to pull the first tile from the normal tiles. If you are talking about the normal lake peice then you dont get a further tile as you are allowed to place a meeple on it (farmer).

The mayor scores for the city it scores regardless of if there are shields in it or not. The mayor sort of acts as a normal meeple when on its own. Shield counts only come into play when there are opposing factors in a feature.
Logged

Cheers

Canada Steve
Deatheux
Marquis
***

Merit: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 424



Awards
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 09:33:33 am »

strench 0 of a mayor does NOT score at all... see the FAQ : Blue has a mayor in a city with no pennants. Does the city count as occupied? And if so, when the city is scored, will blue score points?
--> The city is occupied. The mayor has no ‘strength’, so he counts as if there is no follower, and scores no points.

the FAQ is awesome too!
Logged

LCF = 57 + 3!!!

13 man on the field IS a penalty!!!!!(10 yards, automatic 1st down)

A match can never be ended on a defensive penalty!!!
Dagou
Cottager
**

Merit: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


Awards
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2008, 08:13:07 pm »

Thanks for the answers.

As for the mayor question, we've got conflicting answers.

Anybody else have an opinion?
Logged
Deatheux
Marquis
***

Merit: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 424



Awards
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2008, 09:20:07 pm »

Thanks for the answers.

As for the mayor question, we've got conflicting answers.

Anybody else have an opinion?

For the mayor, i just take the FAQ with copy+paste... i do not dream that!  Wink
Logged

LCF = 57 + 3!!!

13 man on the field IS a penalty!!!!!(10 yards, automatic 1st down)

A match can never be ended on a defensive penalty!!!
Dagou
Cottager
**

Merit: 2
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


Awards
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2008, 10:01:14 pm »

Thanks Deatheux, I hadn't realized that there was a FAQ on this site. I always referenced the completed annoted rules when looking up stuff.

Great job to all of you working on this site!

Best regards
Logged
Joff
Authors
Chatelain
*
*
******

Merit: 30
Offline Offline

Posts: 1254


I play yellow... usually


WWW Awards
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2008, 02:46:07 am »

The mayor scores for the city it scores regardless of if there are shields in it or not. The mayor sort of acts as a normal meeple when on its own. Shield counts only come into play when there are opposing factors in a feature.

This is incorrect. If a city is closed that contains a mayor and there are no pennants (shields) the mayor is worth nothing and cannot score for the closed city.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!