Title: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: tersicore on June 07, 2009, 01:56:58 am There is a tile that can be placed only if there an "hole" in the map, it's a red cloister tile who complete all the other tile around, but I don't remember from which expansion I get it.
This is the question: If the hole is between two incompleted cities and I place this special cloister tile, I can place there a follower too, to make 9 points. The two cities around are completed together or not? It's a large city or two small ones ? thanks Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: tersicore on June 07, 2009, 02:19:32 am The red tile is not a cloister but an abbey.
Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: meepleater on June 07, 2009, 04:19:12 am The red tile is not a cloister but an abbey. It's from Abbey & Mayor, and in answer to your question the abbey completes all the edges that touch it, making two smaller cities. When scoring cities also the abbey tile does not count... Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: Novelty on June 07, 2009, 06:29:38 am I don't remember from which expansion I get it. Like meepleater said, it's from Abbey and Mayor.This is the question: If the hole is between two incompleted cities and I place this special cloister tile, I can place there a follower too, to make 9 points. Yes, you can play a follower into the abbey to get 9 points.The two cities around are completed together or not? It's a large city or two small ones ? The two cities are completed separately. It's 2 small ones.Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: meepleater on June 07, 2009, 06:47:09 am This is the question: If the hole is between two incompleted cities and I place this special cloister tile, I can place there a follower too, to make 9 points. Yes, you can play a follower into the abbey to get 9 points.As long as it the space is surrounded not just on the four sides but the four corners as well... otherwise you have to wait until it's completed... Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: Novelty on June 07, 2009, 11:39:06 am Thanks meepleater. He is correct, of course.
Also, the one thing to keep in mind is that the abbey (which is a cloister) cannot be next to 2 or more Cult places! Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: Johngee on June 08, 2009, 01:49:14 pm It's from Abbey & Mayor, and in answer to your question the abbey completes all the edges that touch it, making two smaller cities. When scoring cities also the abbey tile does not count... Dang! We've been counting the Abbey tile as a part of every feature that it completes and is scored, thus giving extra points to the respective owners unnecessarily. I don't remember reading in the RGG Rules that came with the M&A expansion that it is NOT to be counted. I will have to go back and check that more thoroughly. Logically shouldn't we count this tile, since the various adjoining features are NOT complete without it? The two cities around are completed together or not? It's a large city or two small ones ? The two cities are completed separately. It's 2 small ones. Hypothetically, couldn't one Abbey tile could simultaneously complete FOUR small towns or FOUR small roads (...or any combination of towns and roads up to four total); and may (allbeit a rare occurance) complete ONE huge town if the brown spaces completely surround the Abbey and still connect to each other? Title: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: CKorfmann on June 08, 2009, 02:12:37 pm Dang! We've been counting the Abbey tile as a part of every feature that it completes and is scored, thus giving extra points to the respective owners unnecessarily. I don't remember reading in the RGG Rules that came with the M&A expansion that it is NOT to be counted. I will have to go back and check that more thoroughly. Logically shouldn't we count this tile, since the various adjoining features are NOT complete without it? I think it just provides a boundry or ending place. Quote Hypothetically, couldn't one Abbey tile could simultaneously complete FOUR small towns or FOUR small roads (...or any combination of towns and roads up to four total); and may (allbeit a rare occurance) complete ONE huge town if the brown spaces completely surround the Abbey and still connect to each other? It could be possible with enough cccc tiles involved. A perfect opportunity for the Missionary! :DTitle: Re: Red "jolly" cloister Post by: Joff on June 20, 2009, 02:44:26 am Examples of how to play and score the Abbey can be found here:http://www.john-warren.co.uk/carcassonne/abbey_tile.htm (http://www.john-warren.co.uk/carcassonne/abbey_tile.htm)
|