Carcassonne Central
April 03, 2025, 11:36:21 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: THESE FORUMS HAVE BEEN REPLACED. PLEASE GO TO THE NEW FORUMS: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/
 
   Home   Help Search Staff List Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Princess and Phantom  (Read 6267 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
smash
Vagabond
*

Merit: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Awards
« on: July 25, 2011, 06:29:27 am »

I was playing yesterday and came across this situation, would be interested in your take on the situation ...

A tile with a princess is placed which completes a city which has only one follower, allowing for that follower to be removed. Can you then play the phantom rule to claim the city that was just vacated using the princess rule?

Many thanks in advance for any input anyone can give!
Logged
spunt
Vagabond
*

Merit: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


Awards
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2011, 08:04:18 am »

In my oppinion: no you cannot do that. The phantom always follows another follower, or is placed as a normal follower. The princess requiers that you make the sacrifice to do nothing on that tile.
Logged
PreGy
Vagabond
*

Merit: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Awards
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2011, 08:23:50 am »

This is something we've argued in our group too, and I think will make some nice questions for the CAR. The instruction set for the phantom is quite short, and it only addresses phantoms as a "second feature" follower, after using another follower, or as a normal follower. But phantom "could" be more important and key in a Carcassone game.

We allow that, as we see the phantom as a "second" follower that can be placed in any "follower decision", something like bridges and castles (if you've played Carcassonne on PC, you may understand better this: you play the princess tile, remove follower, and then have the option to deploy phantom).


More questions about Phantom:

With Count, can you move the phantom into a section of Carcassone city as an extra follower when moving anoother follower into Carcassonne too (in the same turn)? We allow that.

With Count, during final scoring, can you deploy from Carcassonne a follower and the phantom in the same turn?

With Dragon, can you move a follower and the phantom using the magic teleport? It seems this is definitely a legimit move by the rules.

With Dragon, can you deploy phantom and move the fairy to protect it? We don't allow that, as we understand that moving the fairy comes first (but we also say that you can move the fairy to another follower and deploy phantom)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2011, 08:25:26 am by PreGy » Logged
CKorfmann
Authors
Duke Chevalier
*
*
*

Merit: 32
Offline Offline

Posts: 1807


Pigs are meeple too!


Awards
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2011, 11:51:36 am »

I don't have the Phantom and have not seen the rules, but my understanding is that you may use the phantom follower to claim a second feature on a tile.  Claiming the city after the princess removes it would be, in short, reclaiming the same feature.  I would say that this is not a legal move.

As for protecting with the fairy, moving the fairy is something done during the "move wood" phase.  As the phantom is also part of the "move wood" phase, I'd say that they can not both be done on the same turn.

However, if I've misinterpreted the rules for the Phantom, I could be wrong on both counts.
Logged

Flee the fleas!
smash
Vagabond
*

Merit: 0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Awards
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 12:26:22 pm »

Thanks for the replies.

I think we're going to go for the last interpretation suggested by CKorfmann as the rules do explicitly say about claiming a second feature.

Regarding making a sacrifice, surely the sacrifice would be the first meeple that you don't play - i.e. instead of playing one meeple as well as the phantom you sacrifice the first, but still get to play the phantom?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!