Carcassonne Central

Carc Central Community => Rules => Topic started by: buldeo on July 24, 2011, 10:26:51 pm



Title: Builder double-turn
Post by: buldeo on July 24, 2011, 10:26:51 pm
Hi everybody,

when using the builder, do the double-turn is possible or mandatory ?  I mean if I place a card who extend my city where my builder is, may I choose to not play the double-turn?

thanks


Title: Re: Builder double-turn
Post by: CKorfmann on July 24, 2011, 11:42:37 pm
I would think not.  I guess the implication is that it is mandatory.  That's an interesting question though.


Title: Re: Builder double-turn
Post by: Fritz_Spinne on July 25, 2011, 01:56:25 am
In the german rules there is "darf er einen Doppelzug ausführen" (BigBox2). This means literally the player "may take a doubleturn", not he "has to take a doubleturn".
But I wonder: Why not take the doubleturn?


Title: Re: Builder double-turn
Post by: buldeo on July 25, 2011, 07:17:09 pm
Thanks for your answer !!

We play with the "three card in hand" variant.  In the end of the game, it happened that one player want to play his last card as late as possible. But his before last card fits good on his city with the builder. So he ask, if he may skip the double-turn to play his last card at very end of the game.


Title: Re: Builder double-turn
Post by: Joff on July 27, 2011, 02:40:14 am
We play with the "three card in hand" variant.  In the end of the game, it happened that one player want to play his last card as late as possible. But his before last card fits good on his city with the builder. So he ask, if he may skip the double-turn to play his last card at very end of the game.
I don't see what benefit not taking the double turn would invoke. Am I missing something?


Title: Re: Builder double-turn
Post by: Carcking on July 27, 2011, 05:02:44 am
We play with the "three card in hand" variant.  In the end of the game, it happened that one player want to play his last card as late as possible. But his before last card fits good on his city with the builder. So he ask, if he may skip the double-turn to play his last card at very end of the game.
I don't see what benefit not taking the double turn would invoke. Am I missing something?

Just a shot in the dark here. We play holding three tiles also. When we play a tile on a feature with a builder we do not draw another tile for the extended turn - we play out of the remaining two tiles that we hold (this developed out of a need/wish to save time during the game). I can see a scenario where you might be waiting for some other key tile to be played before you would want to play either of your remaining two tiles, so you would rather hold them than play them.